Some Of The Best Irish Crime Writers

Adrian McKinty

Adrian McKinty is a crime novelist born in Northern Ireland. His debut crime novel, Dead I Well May Be was published in 2003 and was the first in the Michael Forsythe Trilogy; since then he has published more than a dozen novels.

Having been homeless and given up writing, he was persuaded to give it one last go which lead to The Chain, published in July 2019.The book immediately entered the bestseller charts in both the UK and US.

Click here to find out more or buy Adrian’s books.

Jane Casey

Jane Casey was born in Dublin in 1977 She read English at Jesus College, Oxford. Her first book, The Missing, published in 2010 was shortlisted for the Ireland AM Crime Fiction Award. She then began a series of novels featuring DC Maeve Kerrigan.

The latest in the series, Love Lies Bleeding was published in 2019 and The Cutting Place is due out in 2020.

Click here to find out more or buy Jane’s books.

John Connolly

Disillusioned as a freelance journalist for The Irish Times newspaper, Connolly began his first novel, Every Dead Thing, in his spare time. The novel  introduced readers to the anti-hero Charlie Parker, a former police officer hunting the killer of his wife and daughter.

It was nominated for the Bram Stoker Award for Best First Novel. A Book of Bones, his 17th Charlie Parker novel was published in 2019.

Click here to find out more or buy Johns’s books.

Claire Allan

From Derry in Northern Ireland, Allan had a successful career in women’s fiction before switching genres.  Her debut psychological thriller, Her Name Was Rose, was published by Avon Books, an imprint of Harper Collins, in June 2018.

It hit the bestseller charts in the UK, Australia, Canada and was a USA Today bestseller. Apple of My Eye was published in 2019.

Click here to find out more or buy Claire’s books.

Stuart Neville

Born and raised in Northern Ireland, Stuart Neville’s debut novel, The Twelve (published in the USA as The Ghosts of Belfast), won the Mystery/Thriller category of the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, and was picked as one of the top crime novels of 2009 by both the New York Times and the LA Times. 

Those we left Behind was the first novel in his famous series featuring DCI Serena Flanagan.

Click here to find out more or buy Stuart’s books.

Tana French 

Born in 1973 in Vermont Tana French is an American-Irish writer Her debut novel In the Woods (2007), a psychological mystery, won the Edgar, Anthony, Macavity, and Barry awards for best first novel. She lives in Dublin. The Independent Newspaper named her as “the First Lady of Irish Crime”. 

Her novel The Witch Elm was described by Stephen King as: “Terrific – terrifying, amazing, and the prose is incandescent.”

Click here to find out more or buy Tana’s books.

Andrea Carter

Andrea Carter grew up in Laois and has worked as both a solicitor and barrister in Ireland.Her debut novel, Death at Whitewater Church, was praised for its portrayal of the good and bad of Irish village life.

Her fourth book in this Inishowen Series, Murder at Greysbridge was published in 2018. The series is being adapted for television.

Click here to find out more or buy Andrea’s books.

Declan Hughes 

Writer and playwright from Dublin, Declan Hughes is the author of the Irish-American, Ed Loy PI series. 

His books have been nominated for the Edgar, CWA New Blood Dagger, Shamus, Macavity and Theakston’s Old Peculiar Awards. The Wrong Kind of Blood won the Shamus for Best First PI novel. All The Things You Are was published in 2014.      

Click here to find out more or buy Declam’s books.

Anthony J Quinn

Anthony J Quinn was born in 1971 in County Tyrone, Northern Ireland, and after completing an English degree at Queen’s University followed various callings – social worker, organic market gardener, yoga teacher – before finding work as a journalist and author. 

Disappeared, his first novel in the Celcius Daly Series was picked by the Times and the Daily Mail as one of their books of the year, and was nominated for the Theakston’s Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year. Undertow, the latest in the series was published in 2017. In 2018 The Listeners, the first of a new series set in the Scottish borders was published.

Click here to find out more or buy Anthony’s books.

Olivia Kiernan

Olivia Kiernan is an Irish writer living in the UK. She was born and raised in County Meath, Kells and holds an MA in Creative Writing awarded by the University of Sussex.

She burst onto the scene in 2019 with her fast-paced debut, Too Close to Breathe featuring Detective Chief Superintendent Frankie Sheehan. The Irish Times described her as “the heir to Tana French’s throne” .

Click here to find out more or buy Olivia’s books.

Why not take a look at Sam Blake’s interview where she talks about some of the great up and coming writers in this genre.  

play button

Some more of the best writers in...

Before you go...

Leave your email below to stay updated on the exclusive interviews, podcasts and short stories we will be releasing soon